loading live map...hang in there
27 Sep 2013
Published To

Wetlands are areas that have permanent or periodic inundation with water that is static or flowing, fresh, salt or brackish. There are 5 different wetlands systems that support a diverse range of plants and animals and provide refuge and habitat for many migratory and threatened species.

Marine (coastal wetlands including rocky shores)

Riverine (wetlands along rivers and streams)

Estuarine (tidal marshes and mangrove swamps)

Lacustrine (wetlands associated with lakes)

Palustrine (marshes, swamps and bogs) 

Wetlands purify water by filtering out nutrients and sediments, and can contribute to preventing floods and to recharging the groundwater.

Wetlands are also valuable for protecting coastal areas against extreme weather conditions such as cyclones. 

Comments (0)