loading live map...hang in there
The Board of General Education takes responsibility for education and schools in Queensland
23 Feb 2012
Published To

Prior to the Colony of Queensland coming into being and its separation from New South Wales in 1859, the supervision of education and schools vested in the Board of National Education (BNE) in Sydney which had established National Primary Schools at Warwick (1850) and Drayton (Toowoomba) in 1851.[1]

According to “Statistics of Queensland” published as part of the Queensland Government’s Q150 Collection and published in 2009, there were 27 private schools, including a denominational school at South Brisbane which began in 1858.[2]

The Queensland Government on 7th September 1860 enacted legislation providing for The Board of General Education (BGE) to succeed the BNE. The newly formed Board did not become fully constituted until 6th December by which time two more National Primary Schools were added to their stewardship. The new schools were Brisbane Central Boys and Brisbane Central Girls (from 14 August 1860) which, before segregation, started out as the Brisbane Central School on 2nd April 1860.

The Moreton Bay Courier of 23rd March 1852 reports that Mr John Scott, a member of the Educational Institute of Scotland, with 15 years experience, opened a day school in George Street, Brisbane Town on 29th March 1852. He was still conducting classes in 1860 as reported in the press on 7th January of that year. Mr Scott, who later became the Fortitude Valley National Primary School’s first teacher in 1861, was appointed to the Board of General Education as from 26th April 1860 and began teaching at the Brisbane Central School, (Anzac Square).

[1] First Annual Report of the Board of General Education, 1860

[2] Moreton Bay Courier, Saturday 14 August 1858

Education History First_Fortitude_Valley_National_School Fortitude_Valley Moreton_Bay Valley_School
Comments (0)